Dolly Parton will be a rock star with her new music coming in November

Dolly! All Access Pop-Up Store Preview & Press Conference
Dolly! All Access Pop-Up Store Preview & Press Conference / Sam Hodde/GettyImages

American singer-songwriter, actress, philanthropist, and businesswoman Dolly Parton is releasing new music on November 17, 2023. The album is titled Rockstar, and fans and pre-buy/pre-save now. As reported by Variety, Parton will perform the first single from the album, “World on Fire,” on Thursday, May 11 at the Academy of Country Music Awards.

Parton is well known mostly for her decades-long career in country music. Her first album, Hello, I’m Dolly, was released in 1967, and she would continue singing in the country music industry in the 60s and peak during the 70s and 80s. She is also well known for being a songwriter for many other music artists. 

Parton was nominated for induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2022, an honor that she initially declined, sighting that she isn’t a rock musician. But once she discovered there was more to the definition of rock and roll, she stated she would accept if she were chosen. In November 2022, she was inducted.  In December 2022 she appeared on The View and other talk shows revealing her intent to make a rock and roll album.

"If I’m gonna be in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, I’m gonna have to do something to earn it. So I’m doing a rock-and roll-album, and I’m having a lot of the rock stars that I met that night be on the album with me"

Dolly Parton

Dolly Parton's RockStar album releases in November 2023

The rock album that Parton has promised fans will consist of 30 tracks, of which the majority will feature at least one big-name artist collaboration. Brandi Carlile and Pink will assist on the Rolling Stones’ “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction” while “You’re No Good” by Linda Ronstadt will see Emmylou Harris and Sheryl Crow as guest singers. Judas Priest’s Rob Halford and Motley Crue members Nikki Sixx and John 5 will join Parton on “Bygones” and Lizzo and Sasha Flute accompany her on Led Zeppelin’s “Stairway to Heaven.” 

She will cover the Jackson 5 song “I Want You Back” with Steven Tyler and Warren Hayes” and Paul McCartney, Ringo Starr, Peter Frampton and Mick Fleetwood will join in on a cover of “Let It Be.” Other notable names joining Parton include Stevie Nicks, Chris Stapleton, Simon Le Bon, John Fogerty, Melissa Etheridge, Michael McDonald, Richie Sambora, Ronnie McDowell, the Jordanaires and Kid Rock.

Other songs included on the album that will see the original artist join Parton include: 

  • Miley Cyrus “Wrecking Ball”
  • Elton John “Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me” 
  • Debbie Harry “Heart of Glass” by Blondie
  • Joan Jett “I Hate Myself for Loving You” 
  • Peter Frampton “Baby I Love Your Way”
  • Ann Wilson “Magic Man” by Heart 
  • Steve Perry “Open Arms” by Journey
  • Sting “Every Breath You Take” by The Police 
  • Pat Benatar & Neil Giraldo “Heartbreaker”
  • Kevin Cronin “Keep on Loving You” by REO Speedwagon
  • Linda Perry “What’s Up?” by 4 Non-Blondes 

Welcome to Stairway to 11, the classic rock and golden oldies news and opinions site brought to you by the FanSided Network. Stairway to 11 is dedicated to providing top-notch classic rock and golden oldies news, views, and original content. This site also serves as a community for like-minded fans to come together to catch up on the latest news and to discuss their passion.
Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.